• 1120 C.E.- Almoravid Moroccan Dynasty Controls Western Sahara with its capital in Marrakech Morocco. 
  • 1578 to 1727: Moroccan Kings rule over the territory currently known as the Western Sahara.
  • 1884: Spanish colonization begins.
  • 1956: Morocco claims independence from France and reclaims the Western Sahara at the UN for the first time.
  • 1958: King Mohammed V formally lays claim to the Sahara.
  • 1963: The UN includes the Western Sahara on the list of non self-governing territories.
Banner Western Sahara
Is it current news? :